top of page

Kyle Archambault

Coming from our world, he finds himself in Galénor...

Gemini (from Tom)

 

Kyle is a human, he comes from the city of Quebec, in our world, in our dimension, which the people of Galénor call “Disenchanted”, as we do not believe in magic. He knows nothing about Galénor and often asks rather eccentric questions, which brings a little touch of humor to the novel.

Sources of inspiration:
In early drafts of the novel, Kyle was a huge Star Wars fan, occasionally quoting from it. At the masquerade ball at the end, he was even dressed as Darth Vader… (I really like Star Wars myself.)   Although I removed those clips, I still imagine him in Star Wars fan...

At the time, when I started working on Galénor, I physically imagined him in the style of actor Jack Black. I also wanted him to be a bit of a joke.

 

Excerpt: 

“…

– And now, I present to you Kyle Archambault, said the old magician. Kyle is Tom's gemini. He comes from Quebec, in the "Disenchanted dimension".
– The disenchanted dimension?
– The people of his world don't believe in magic… It took me two weeks to convince Kyle to follow me…


Daphne chuckled.
Kyle stepped forward to shake her hand, all smiles.


- So, how are you ? Not too shaken?
– A little, but that's ok… Delighted.

Kyle's eyes and hair were hazel in color. His protruding cheeks gave him a mischievous look, while his messy hair, which fell to his shoulders, gave him a somewhat unkempt side. He wore dark blue jeans and a black t-shirt.


– I first approached him in a bar and he took me for a madman…, intervened Mérindol.
– He showed up at a nightclub on the Grande-Allée dressed as a magician like in the movies, barefoot, a camera dating from the sixties in his hands and asked me to follow him to Galénor, in another dimension… How should I have reacted?
“Not by calling the police anyway,” muttered Mérindol.
“You were a little too insistent, let’s say…”

bottom of page

Kyle Archambault

Issu de note monde, il se retrouve à Galénor...

Gémini (de Tom)

 

Kyle est un humain, il vient de la ville de Québec, dans notre monde, dans notre dimension, que les gens de Galénor appellent « Désenchantée », comme nous ne croyons pas en la magie. Il ne connaît rien de Galénor et pose souvent des questions plutôt farfelues, ce qui apporte une petite touche d’humour au roman.

Sources d’inspirations :
Dans les premiers jets du roman, Kyle était un grand fan de Star Wars, dont il faisait parfois des citations. Au bal masqué à la fin, il était même déguisé en Darth Vader… (J’aime moi-même beaucoup Star Wars.)  Bien que j’aie enlevé ces extraits, je l’imagine toujours en fan de Star Wars…

À l’époque, lorsque j’ai commencé à travailler sur Galénor, je l’imaginais physiquement dans le style de l’acteur Jack Black. Je voulais aussi qu’il soit un peu blagueur.

 

Extrait : 

«…

– Et maintenant, je te présente Kyle Archambault, dit le vieux magicien. Kyle est le gémini de Tom. Il vient de Québec, dans la « dimension Désenchantée ».
– La dimension désenchantée ?
– Les gens de son monde ne croient pas en la magie… J’ai mis deux semaines à convaincre Kyle de me suivre…


Daphnée gloussa.
Kyle s’avança pour lui serrer la main, tout sourire.


– Alors ça va ? Pas trop secouée ?
– Un peu, mais ça va… Enchantée.

Les yeux et les cheveux de Kyle étaient de couleur noisette. Ses joues saillantes lui donnaient un air espiègle, tandis que ses cheveux en bataille, qui descendaient jusqu’à ses épaules, lui apportaient un côté quelque peu négligé. Il portait un jeans bleu foncé ainsi qu’un t-shirt noir.


– Je l’ai d’abord abordé dans un bar et il m’a pris pour un fou…, intervint Mérindol.
– Il s’est pointé dans une discothèque de la Grande-Allée costumé en magicien comme dans les films, pieds nus, un appareil-photo datant des années soixante dans les mains et m’a demandé de le suivre à Galénor, dans une autre dimension… Comment aurais-je dû réagir ?
– Pas en appelant la police en tout cas, grommela Mérindol.
– Vous étiez un peu trop insistant, disons… »